US Clocks Turn Back The Hands of Time

by Brazil Club - Let The Music Take You There on 11/01/2012 - 08:46 pm

Listen Live On-Air Guide  Chat Box  Time Zone Converter 

The sea, the sun and The Sounds of Brazil! streaming live 24/7 at

The Sounds of Brazil's streaming radio makes workdays a breeze: Listen to The Midday Show, 9 am Central!



Running on ‘Brazilian Time’ usually means a more relaxed pace to the day. But in this case, we here on the northern side of the equator are getting ready to put our own spin on the clock, and we’ll do it this weekend.

The USA leaves Daylight Savings Time this coming Saturday night. This means that cities like Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo and Brasilia moved ahead of US cities by one additional hour, making the time difference in New York three hours, Chicago four hours, and Los Angeles by six hours.

But some Brazilian cities have recently dropped Daylight Savings Time from their calendars completely, including Salvador Bahia, which sited civil unrest as a primary reason.

In the United States Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 a.m. local time on the second Sunday in March. On the first Sunday in November areas on Daylight Saving Time return to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m. When Daylight Saving Time begins turn your clocks ahead one hour. At the end of Daylight Saving Time turn your clocks back one hour.

The names in each time zone change along with Daylight Saving Time. Eastern Standard Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and so forth. Arizona, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, U.S. Virgin Islands and American Samoa do not observe Daylight Saving Time.

In the United States, Under the Uniform Time Act, the Department of Transportation is in charge of time zones in the United States and ensuring that jurisdictions observing Daylight Saving Time begin and end on the same date.

On Monday August 8, 2005 President Bush signed into law a broad energy bill that extended Daylight Saving Time by four weeks beginning in 2007. Since 1986 the United States had observed Daylight Saving Time from the first Sunday in April through the last Sunday in October. The provisions of the bill call for Daylight Saving Time to begin three weeks earlier on the second Sunday in March and end on the first Sunday in November. Read our special section about the extension of Daylight Saving Time.

Also, ten Mexico municipalities which border the United States have adopted daylight saving time schedules to be consistent with the United States. This will help facilitate trade and commerce between the two countries.